Alpine Hikers - guided hiking trips in switzerland Alpine Hikers - hiking trips in switzerland
Guest Reviews - guided tours
After completing your guided tour with Alpinehikers, please leave your tour review below. Feel free to be specific about things that you liked and didn't like about your tour, as I would like this to be a good forum for people to read honest, first-hand accounts of Alpinehikers tours. Here is a quick link to the Review form at the bottom of the page.

Also, see our Self-guided tour reviews.

Comment Script

Latest Reviews

Amazing Adventure
Our Bernese Oberland hiking adventure was perfect in all respects from the knowledgeable guides to the interesting people also taking part in our guided trip to the majestic scenery. The accommodations and food were in keeping with the gracious Swiss culture, which made for a trip that took us far away from our normal daily lives and created the perfect holiday retreat. We have been on adventure trips with other larger operations but they do not compare with Alpine Hikers highly personalized approach. We plan to take other trips with this excellent company.
#10 - Rachel and Tom Kellerman - 11/19/2011 - 11:34
Simply Awesome
Troy -
For many years this was a dream of mine - to hike in the Alps. I could not have imagined a better vacation. The hikes were challenging without making me so tired I could not do any other exploring. The company was charming. The food was fab. The guides - witty and knowledgable. Can't wait for my next trip!
Carol
#9 - Carol Willoughby - 08/15/2011 - 13:39
A trip that will change your life
We are long-time fans of Troy and Alpine Hikers. My husband and I have been out on four different tours with the company (2001-Bernese Oberland, 2003-Engadine and Italian Alps, and 2005 Matterhorn). We even spent part of our Honeymoon on a tour (two tours, actually).
Troy is an excellent hiker and guide; personable, knowledgeable, professional, skilled with logistics, and great fun. From our first tour to our most recent, our trips exceeded our expectations in all ways. The lodging was comfortable, charming, and authentically regional; no generic chain hotels. The meals were great; hearty, varied, and unique. The ease of having lodging, meals, and baggage taken care of was fabulous. It was amazing to have an expert on the area planning our hiking routes to maximize the scenery and the overall Swiss Alps experience. We are avid hikers and live in the mountains, Troy's tours always challenge us and are always fun. The friends and family (a mixture of ages and degrees of athleticism) that have joined us on tours have gotten the same fantastic hiking experience, one suited to their abilities and full of beauty. We have so many incredible memories of our trips: the scenery, the food, the laughs, the thick down comforters on those cool nights in the high Alps, and of course the hikes. Go ahead and book your trip, you won't regret it!
#8 - Amy Williams - 01/20/2011 - 21:34
Knowledgeble and considerate
If you are considering a guided tour in Switzerland with Alpine Hikers but are not sure of your stamina. Have no fear. My husband and I were not up for the speed and altitude gain of some others in our group so one guide went with us at the speed and altitude we were comforable with. The scenery was still spectacular and our guide knew the name of every wildflower we saw and was very patient with all of the time spend photographing. The hotels selected were just right for great views of the most famous mountains in the area.
I certainly recommend the June hikes because the wildflowers are out.
#7 - Carol - 12/04/2009 - 14:56
Never Experienced Better Guiding
So far I have had one trip with Troy, Matt and Alpine Hikers. I have never had a better guiding experience in all of my years trekking the globe. This would include, Nepal, France, Italy, Spain, Peru, and Switzerland. The Switzerland trip with Alpine Hikers was brilliantly organized, had a terrific pace, wonderful food, elegant hotels, safe, and always with a smile of confidence from our guides whom I will never forget. I look forward to our next trip together.
#6 - Ron Strobel - 03/10/2009 - 06:15
One of the best vacations ever
We took the 2004 guided Bernese Oberland tour with Alpinehikers and also had a 2006 self-guided tour of Zermatt and Riederalp. We chose to have a self-guided tour in 2006 because our schedule didn’t line up with when the Zermatt/Riederalp tour was offered that year. Our 2004 guided Bernese Oberland trip was one of the best vacations we’ve taken. The scenery was breath taking, the meals and lodging were great, and the company of the other hikers was really nice. We have framed poster sized prints from this trip decorating our walls so we can look at the Alps every day. We’ve always been wary of groups and guided tours, but would take another guided Alpinehikers trip in a heartbeat.
#5 - Sam and Kari Matzek - 01/26/2009 - 19:50
An alpine tour I will never forget
Do you like adventure, spectacular scenery, good food, and a guide who is knowledgeable about the area you're hiking and also personable and friendly? If so, then you need to take a trek with Alpine Hikers. Whether you are incredibly fit or just love to be out in a flower filled meadow, Troy and his guides will do an amazing job of taking care of you. A friend and I did the Tour of Mt. Blanc, and it was a blast! The images of snow capped peaks, expansive glaciers, meadows of brightly colored alpine flowers, rushing waterfalls and good food at the end of the day still remain crystal clear in my mind. Given the chance to go on another trip with Alpine Hikers, I wouldn't hesitate and neither should you!
#4 - Anne Huntzicker - 01/15/2009 - 13:52
Older hilkers ideal Alps experience
I and Ruth Frey organized the Bernese Oberland Highlights trip for eight other, older, experienced hikers in September 2007.Everyone was throughly delighted with the trip and the guiding. We got plenty of hiking in each day on some of the best maintained and most spectacular trails in the world. That opinion comes from someone who lives near Aspen, Colorado. We all wanted more of a vacation than an adventure, so returning to a comfortable inn with good food at night worked out perfectly.
#3 - Bernard Grauer - 01/15/2009 - 11:58
A perfect experience
In 2007 we put together a group of 10 Colorado friends for a private hike with Troy Haines as our guide. The tour was the Bernese Oberland Highlights. We 10 still rave about the perfection of the trip. Everything exceeded expectations: Troy and his German assistant, affectionately nicknamed "Shrek," the exquisite scenery, the gourmet dinners and lovely inns, the rich mix of alpine heights, valleys, pastures, and villages, and the lunch bag surprises packed by Troy himself. We chose AlpineHikers over other companies because of Troy's responsiveness to our questions, his accommodating manner, and the inclusive and reasonable cost. We continue to recommend AlpineHikers to anyone interested in a superb alpine experience.
#2 - Ruth and Peter Frey - 01/15/2009 - 10:03
Affordable, breathtaking alpine hiking
While thumbing through an adventure magazine I came across scores of fancy "We are the best" ads for hiking in Europe. After emailing Alpine Hikers and having the owner actually answer my questions, we decided to give them a go. We took the Murren/Grindewald trip. Even though I am a much stronger hiker than my wife, Troy and the spectacular beauty of our hikes put us both on equal ground and the lunches he had packed for us were always a surprise. You need two things after a day out in the Swiss mountains, a delicious meal and a cozy room and bed. We had them both every single night. We would highly recommend Alpine Hikers to anybody interested in experiencing mountain beauty, great food and culture and friendly staff. We hope to return soon.
#1 - Jim and Bari Sedlacko - 01/09/2009 - 12:58
Great guides, great scenery, great memories
I've traveled with Alpinehikers twice: Once on a Bernese Oberland inn-based trip (Murren and Grindelwald) and a second time on the Tour du Mont Blanc. Both trips were wonderful and I continue to recommend them to friends and family.

This is an excellent company with knowledgeable, friendly guides taking you to some of the most spectular alpine scenery in the world. Alpinehikers' prices are very competitive, and in many cases much lower than than bigger companies with glossy brochures. And with Alpinehikers you also get the benefit of actually having the owner, Troy Haines, be your guide on some of the trips.

I've hiked with many companies in Europe, in addition to doing some solo and self-guided hiking as well. My experiences with Alpinehikers are a definite highlight.
#0 - Josh Roberts - 01/09/2009 - 12:20
This comment form is powered by GentleSource Comment Script. It can be included in PHP or HTML files and allows visitors to leave comments on the website.


Home | About Us | Self-guided Tours | Guided Tours | Tour Schedule | General Info | Praise | Gear | Sign Up

For info on our Switzerland hiking trips,
call toll free: (888) 509-7810
or direct: (503) 459-3940
Or email: alpinehikers@yahoo.com

1203 Loren Dr
Prescott, AZ 86305
USA