Alpine Hikers - guided hiking trips in switzerland Alpine Hikers - hiking trips in switzerland
Guest Reviews - self-guided tours
After completing your self-guided tour with Alpinehikers, please leave your tour review below. Feel free to be specific about things that you liked and didn't like about your tour, as I would like this to be a good forum for people to find honest, first-hand accounts of the self-guided tour experience. Here is a quick link to the Review form at the bottom of the page.

Also, see our Guided tour reviews.

Comment Script

Latest Reviews

Great variety
We had a great time on the Bernese Oberland Traverse that Alpine hikers organised for us. there was a good mix of accommodation and the route was clearly described and easy to follow the instructions. we will certainly think of using their expertise again when we are next "venturing into the unknown"!
#16 - Susan Watson - 07/22/2013 - 14:07
Our second trip with Alpinehikers
Our first review was titled "Weather and changed itineraries" from 2010. We decided to hike the Tour du Mont Blanc in 2012 and this time we shopped around various companies just to be sure we were getting the best price and itinerary. After a bit of knowledge of what others included, provided and priced I contacted Troy. The final choice was a "no brainer." We went with Alpinehikers.
If you want to hike the Alps don't even bother with trying to book the plan by yourself. There is no way you will be better off for less money. After having booked two trips through Troy we can say with absolute certainty you should have no worries about working with this company you found on the internet. All the reviews are accurate. The amount of local knowledge and careful planning is second to none.
Our Trek of Mont Blanc was the most enjoyable experience and hope that you too will entrust your travel concerns to Troy. You won't be sorry.
George and Carolyn
#15 - George and Carolyn - 01/02/2013 - 15:42
Ready to go again!
Troy at Alpine Hikers helped us to plan an unforgettable trip to Switzerland for our 25th wedding anniversary. We love to hike, but wanted a little more freedom than what the guided tours provided and we didn't feel comfortable booking hotels, etc on our own. Troy provided feedback and asked questions so that in the end, our trip was customized just for us. With advice from Troy on how to use the train system, we went to Montreux, Murren, Zermatt, and Geneva. We chose early June when the weather was still a little unpredictable in these areas, but the wild flowers were beautiful and the crowds were non-existent. Troy provided "rainy day" activities that were perfect. For example, when the clouds covered Murren, we took the train down to Lauterbrunnen and walked a trail lined with waterfalls so tall that that they seemed to fall from the sky. The hotels Troy chose were unbelievable! They were in perfect locations and the views were amazing (in Zermatt, the Matterhorn was right out our window!) We chose to include the meals in Murren & Zermatt, and glad we did - this early in the season (especially in Murren) there isn't much going on yet. The food was exceptional in both places but the the chef at Hotel Europe in Zermatt presented dishes that we won't soon forget. All in all, the trip Troy booked for us (trains, hotels, meals, hiking trails, and other activities) was better than what we imagined. We will be contacting him again. (Thanks, Troy!)
#14 - Dave & Tonie - 03/02/2012 - 14:54
Self-guided dolomites Val Gardena Traverse. summer 2011.
This was an amazing vacation. We were based out of the Hotel Stetteneck in Ortisei. This was a gorgeous little hotel right in the center of a small town surrounded by mountain views. The food was outstanding with lots of vegetarian options and fresh fruits, cheeses and homemade breads. We were on the main pedestrian road which tourists would stroll down in the evening. There was a porch in front to enjoy our grappa after dinner and watch the night scene. Mountain hiking is excesible right from the town scquare.

For 3 nights, we left our bags at the hotel and hiked from hut to hut in the mountains. The routes were old foot pathes to summer high pastures. Each hut had excellent views and great food. One not to miss was Plattkofelhutte. This was perched high above the pastures and provided homemeade spinach dumplings, home-infused grappa andgreat desserts. The views and routes were breath-taking. We never would have found these places on our own.
#13 - susan thaller - 11/24/2011 - 11:38
Trek of a Lifetime
Every hotel was carefully chosen and accurately represented by Troy . We found the locations to be very conveniently located near the train station which made it easier to send our luggage ahead (which worked like a CHARM every single time). We found all the hotels comfortable and clean with friendly staffs and good food, exactly as he had promised. The walks were wonderful and every day was a treat. We especially appreciated the bus and tram lines that paralleled many of the walks so we had the freedom to choose when to walk and when to ride.

The schedule Troy outlined for us felt customized to our needs. As hikers in our 60’s it was important for us to know that Alpine hiking is manageable for go-go seniors too! The packet of maps, travel arrangements and walk descriptions was beautifully organized and easy to understand. The maps were clear and the descriptions of each walk were absolutely accurate. We never got lost or felt confused about what to expect. Our only problem was that when we were at home preparing for the walks and looking at the maps we didn’t really pay enough attention to the sentence where he emphasizes that the Alps are steep! While in Switzerland we joked about every walk being either straight up or straight down, which is of course, an exaggeration. We appreciated that the Swiss Alps do not have elevation as high as alpine venues in the USA and the lower elevation made hiking wonderfully easier than the Sierras or Rocky Mountains .

We had a wonderful trip and want to hike with Alpine Hikers again because of the care and precision and accurate portrayal of every aspect of the trip. Troy delivered exactly what he said he would deliver and we really respect that in a travel provider. Wow, it was the trip of a lifetime and I highly recommend Alpine Hikers.
#12 - Gayle Madison - 11/22/2011 - 21:42
Weather and changed itineraries
Our adventure story is filled with the unexpected. The other reviews are completely accurate ; Troy arranges a wonderful trip, at a great price. We wanted to write how accomodating he was with our changing situations and always ready to help.
First our plane got turned around after 3 hours in the air, and we had to depart the U.S a day later. Troy arranged to add a day to our tour.
Then when we arrived in Murren, we spent three days hiking in rain,snow, and dense fog. Then onward to great weather in Zermatt where we contacted Troy to change our itinerary again. We wanted to cancell our city tours and go back to Murren as we believed the weather would clear. Troy advised that this could be risky, gave us alternatives if the weather was still foul, and re-arranged our hotel stays for the little time we would be in the cities. We were willing to be on our own to find a room in Murren, or elsewhere, and that worked out fine. The weather cleared and we ended up having the "vacation of a lifetime", thanks to the flexibility and understanding of Troy.
We wholeheartedly endorse Troy and Alpine Hikers. We asked Troy for a referral for a guide service in Patagonia,and after much research on our part, it was an easy decision to follow his advice. We will be spending Christmas in a base camp, hoping that Santa finds us at the South Pole, where we will be certain to toast to Troys health and continued success!
Enjoy your journey, you will be in good hands!
George and Carolyn
#11 - George and Carolyn - 11/09/2010 - 16:21
2 week Self-guided tour of Bernese Oberland, Chamonix & Zermatt
Ditto on what the other reviewers have said.
- We started out trying to plan this trip ourselves and were soon overwhelmed and lost as to who/what/when/where/how. Finding Troy/Alpine Hikers saved the day.
- Our trip was 2 fathers and 2 teenage daughters. Once we explained our goals, requirements, and budget, Alpine Hikers quickly customized a perfect suggested itinerary for us including recommended region(s), hike length/duration and degree of difficulty (based on the level of challenge we wanted to take on), a mixture of lodging style/price options (huts, mountain inns and villages), local/regional transportation options, sightseeing options, etc.
- the villages, hotels, mountain inns and huts Alpine Hikers recommended and booked for us were all exactly what we could have hoped for, all well-run, excellent places, and the remote ones were in spectacular settings with jaw-dropping scenery.
- the supporting documentation was well organized and just what we needed, no more no less. Alpine hikers supplied rail passes, maps, daily suggested itineraries, suggested hikes, etc, as needed.
- the whole planning process was fast, efficient, flexible and very user friendly.

Unless you've been there and know the area well already, this service is indispensable. It's an excellent one stop shop that will save you infinite amounts of planning time, and their expertise will take you straight to the most spectacular parts of the alps and alpine backcountry. We highly recommend it, and would be happy to provide additional insight to those w/ questions. We had a GREAT trip. Mega thanks Troy!

Steve & Brian Slaughter
#10 - Steve Slaughter - 08/16/2010 - 14:45
Our trip was fantastic!
My husband and I just returned from a self-guided Jungfrau and Zermatt trip arranged by Troy. We couldn't have been more pleased with the planning and preparations and the attention to detail in our itineraries. Having never been to Switzerland, we were a bit nervous about making all the train connections, finding our hotels, etc., but everything went smoothly due to Troy's great instructions. We loved the hikes he had recommended and were so glad we didn't have to waste time trying to decide where to go. Our hotels were all nice and meals were good. We would definately recommend Troy's services to others and plan to do another trip with Alpine Hikers.
#9 - Alice Nicol - 07/06/2010 - 08:13
Alps Adventure: Aug -Sep; 2009
Wow Troy. Having wonderful recollections from my trip –I feel a terra-firma connection with the lands I trekked –brimming with mind & body self confidence for my next alpine adventure in CH or beyond.

It was simply great. Wonderful, life changing, life affirming memories that greatly exceeded my expectations –words are really insufficient. Love to relive my trek through your website content.

Readers: Alpine Hikers is an excellent outfit –surprisingly thorough in their knowledge of the region and extremely willing to share all their cultivated secrets –Alpine Hikers knows almost every stone along the paths.

This last summer I arranged a 4+ week self-guided trek thru the Alps. Bernese Oberland / Haute Route / Engadine. Complaints?: a few times the path was unclear: but, never unsure for more than 10 or so minutes. As Troy says -there is only up-valley and down-valley in the alps –you really cannot get lost.

Take the glacier express. Take the few extra days to explore a little more –Troy will sculpt / modify to your idiosyncrasies. You have to get out there –you really need to do this for yourself. You will be remarkably rewarded.

Safe journey.
#8 - Robert M. Hulsebosch - 12/22/2009 - 13:32
Bernese Oberland trek
This trip was incredible. I would not hesitate to have Troy plan our next self guided trek. My daughter and I spent 11 days hiking in the Alps with all the preparation done by Troy. The meals and inns were very pleasant and the hiking was just what we had thought it wood be. (The Swiss do not believe in Switch backs) Trekking poles were a must. The Mountains are breath taking,the Country is so pristine and the people were very helpful and friendly. Trip of a lifetime.
#7 - Carolyn Gilbertson - 12/07/2009 - 14:50
Summer 2009 - Bernese Oberland
Troy arranged a "self-guided" ten day tour through the Bernese Oberland for my mom and I this past summer. Without his knowledge and planning, I am sure that we would not have had such an incredible experience. There is no way that we could have planned a trip like this on our own. The maps and directions that Troy gave us were invaluable.

If you are thinking of taking a trip to Switzerland, don't hesitate, the scenery is spectacular. Having Alpinehikers plan your trip is the ideal way to experience the country.
#6 - Annette Nadeau - 12/04/2009 - 16:51
Great experience with both self-guided and guided trips
We had a seven day self-guided trip to Zermatt and Riederalp in 2006 that we took after a self-planned 18 day trip in Italy. We’d been on the guided Bernese Oberland trip in 2004 and had a really good experience (see review in guided section). We decided to have Alpinehikers plan the Switzerland portion of this trip as well. We stayed in the Hotel Europe in Zermatt and were very pleased with the accommodations. The trail descriptions and maps were very easy to follow. The weather cooperated as well and we were able to have some great days hiking in the Zermatt area. In Riederalp we stayed at the Walliser Spycher where Troy had upgraded us to a suite. The weather didn’t cooperate as nicely in Riederalp, but we still had a chance to take some shorter hikes and see the scenery. We will definitely use Alpinehikers again when we return to the Alps.
#5 - Sam and Kari Matzek - 01/26/2009 - 19:57
The Trip of a Lifetime
Troy did a fabulous job with our self-guided trip through the Bernese Oberland region this past summer. His attention to detail and clear instructions and advice made our trip perfect. We hope to to have Troy plan another trip for us.
#4 - Marsha Scott - 01/15/2009 - 17:31
17 day Bernese Oberland hike
My husband and I planned this trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was truly the best vacation we have ever taken. Troy customized it to suit our wishes and he did an excellent job down to the last detail.
We love to hike and incorporate it into almost every vacation we go on. This hike topped our trips! We loved being able to carry daypacks, send our bags ahead to our next stop, and hike unencumbered by a lot of stuff.
My biggest dilemma is putting into words accurately how great this trip was. The scenery as we hiked was astoundingly beautiful, beyond words!!! The inns were each quaint and enjoyable, the innkeepers hospitable, and we felt at home at each stop. Berghaus Obersteinberg was a remote gem one must not miss! The hike up to it through the Lauterbrunnen valley, Schmadribach Falls-visible from our room, and the Oberhornsee are must-sees! Hiking up to the Schilthorn(not taking the cable car) was spectacular! Hiking over the passes and walking across the Lotschen glacier rank way up there also!
We met so many interesting people as we hiked and yet most of the time felt like we were the only ones out there enjoying this paradise!
We hope to be able to return to Switzerland again in the future and will without a doubt use Troy as our guide again! Thanks again for the trip of a lifetime!
#3 - Pam and Tony DeLong - 01/13/2009 - 09:35
Our Adventure
My daughter (then 12) and I embarked on a self-guided Switzerland adventure, a journey we will always cherish. Troy listened to our ideas and then worked with us to plan our itinerary. He provided all of the details for our day-to-day travel, including excursions, maps, transportation, etc. through many villages and cities of Switzerland. We even added a few days in the middle to bus from Lugano into Varenna, Italy to spend time on Lake Como! With Troy's guidance, we felt confident in our plan, and had reservations and tickets ready, yet at the same time we felt the thrill of being on our own. We are very grateful that we had this time together and so appreciative that Troy helped make it happen.
#2 - Ronna Kassel - 01/09/2009 - 17:52
Review of The Grand Tour, Self-guided
We wanted to celebrate my partner Jonathan's 50th birthday with a special trip. The Grand Tour, which we did as a self-guided trip, did not disappoint. Our trip through Alpinehikers was hands down the best holiday either of us had ever taken.

Troy provided everything we needed to have a great time, and took care of all of the tedious details so we just needed to pack our bags and go. He even arranged for upgrades to some rooms and helped iron out a snafu with our train reservation from Switzerland to Holland at the end of the trip.

The accomodations were great and just as described. I would recommend that you allow time to take advantage of the spa facilities, as they were first class. Between the excellent maps and well-marked trails, it was nearly impossible to get lost. We even extended most of our hikes by several hours (and many miles!) a day, and this too was made easy by going to the local tourist center for maps to augment the ones Troy put together.

If you are wary of "guiding yourself," don't be. The package you'll get makes getting around easy and means you can set your own schedule from day to day.
#1 - Julie - 01/09/2009 - 13:17
Perfect Swiss Trek
Troy set up a week long itinerary for my adult daughter and I, with a perfect combination of alpine scenery and picturesque small towns, custom scaled perfectly to our abilities. Each day included detailed color maps, an informative narrative and options to increase or decrease the walking length or difficulty.
The pre-arranged hotels were all excellent, the meals superb and we felt welcomed at each stop. With Troy's itineray we were able to send a small suitcase ahead a town or two by train, so were able to walk carrying only a light backpack.
The customized self-guided walk allowed us to enjoy an "off the beaten track" experience, without missing any of the highlights.
I have recommended Troy, would certainly use his services again and hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did.
#0 - Jeanne Garner - 01/09/2009 - 13:15
This comment form is powered by GentleSource Comment Script. It can be included in PHP or HTML files and allows visitors to leave comments on the website.


Home | About Us | Self-guided Tours | Guided Tours | Tour Schedule | General Info | Praise | Gear | Sign Up

For info on our Switzerland hiking trips,
call toll free: (888) 509-7810
or direct: (503) 459-3940
Or email: alpinehikers@yahoo.com

1203 Loren Dr
Prescott, AZ 86305
USA